The Free-handed, Two-coat Tree Mural is DONE!

It’s actually been done for  a while now, but I wanted to get this up here. BECAUSE YEA IT’S DONE!

My idea of projecting the tree on the wall and drawing it didn’t work because the room is way too small (couldn’t get the projector back far enough). I contemplated working from a grid, but after a few days I decided that was way too much work. And, after all, this isn’t a mural in a public space (and I’m no professional), so I decided to just jump up on the ladder with some chalk and free hand it.

I’d already done a swirly tree in a painting, so I decided (since I was now a seasoned swirly tree painter) that I’d go that route.

This is the first coat. Yes, I painted it TWICE!

The only real difficult part was getting up on the ladder to reach the top of the 10 foot wall in the corner. I don’t think I took a breath while I painted those branches.

Now I’m wondering if I need to take some of the leftover fabric from the bird mobile and make some 2D birds for these branches. Maybe I’ll try it out and see how it looks….

Leave a Reply

