A Very Good, Basic Bread (with Beer!)

I am not a bread baker. I’m a great cook, but bread and I have a long, sordid history. I make bricks when I try to make bread without a bread-making machine or some special trick (like this). I *have* made unleavened bread with some success, however. Hm… Maybe I should rephrase that second sentence: YEAST and I have a long, sordid history. I don’t know if I kill it or it’s old or what, but it does not survive in my hands. I murder yeast. I’m the Charles Manson of yeast killers.

I came across a bread recipe on Pinterest this morning that didn’t require traditional yeast, but rather beer. And I had all the ingredients, so after lunch I made it. O. M. G. This has to be the most ANY bread has ever risen for me. EVER. (Even the ones that trick the yeast into obeying me like a petulant 13 year old).

Beer and Honey Bread

All I had was Sam Adams Boston Lager and you can definitely taste the hops. I like sweeter, maltier beers, so next time I think I’ll use a porter or stout. In fact I may do that tomorrow because I’m sure this bread will be gone tonight. NOTE: It’s kinda cakey and probably won’t make for good sandwich bread, but it’s fine for eating. And yeah, that’s a lot of butter, but you’re welcome to spread some more on it after you take it out. YUUUM!

Long story short: If *I* can make this bread, your pet monkey can make this bread. Just don’t let them fling the dough around the kitchen.

From Gimme Some Oven

Honey Beer Bread Recipe
(Adapted from Ezra Pound Cake)

Ingredients:

Dry

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt

Wet

  • 2 Tbsp. honey, liquified in the microwave for a few seconds
  • 1 bottle (12 ounces) beer

For the pan

  • 4 Tbsp. butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9″ x 5″ x 3″ inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder and salt).  Using a wooden spoon, stir the wet ingredients (beer and liquified honey) into the dry ingredients until just mixed.  Pour half the melted butter into the loaf pan. Spoon the dough into the pan and pour the rest of the butter on top of the batter. Bake for 50-60 minutes, until top is golden brown and a toothpick/knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Serve immediately.

NOTE: It’s kinda cakey and probably won’t make for good sandwich bread.

Leave a Reply

